- What "Pass Rate" Means for the Certified TestStand Architect Exam
- What NI Actually Publishes (and What It Doesn't)
- Pass Rate vs. Passing Score vs. Difficulty
- Why the Candidate Pool Shapes Outcomes
- A Domain Risk Map in Place of a Pass-Rate Number
- Question Style and the 75% Math
- How to Spot Bogus Pass-Rate Claims
- Delivery Logistics That Affect Your Result
- A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Timeline
- After the Exam: Validity and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- NI does not publicly disclose an aggregate pass rate for the Certified TestStand Architect exam in the sources we reviewed.
- The published bar is 75% on a 40-question, 60-minute multiple-choice exam, which is a passing score, not a pass rate.
- An active Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) credential is required, so every candidate has already passed a prior NI exam.
- NI publishes seven exam domains but no weights, so prepare evenly instead of betting on one topic.
What "Pass Rate" Means for the Certified TestStand Architect Exam
Searching for a pass rate usually means one of three different things: how many people pass, how hard the exam is, or how many questions you must answer correctly. These are three separate numbers, and conflating them is the most common mistake in articles about this credential. This guide is about the Certified TestStand Architect (CTA) from National Instruments (NI), the top-tier credential for engineers who design automated test systems on the TestStand platform. It is unrelated to the other credentials that happen to share the acronym.
The short, honest answer is that NI has not published an aggregate pass rate for the CTA exam in the issuer sources reviewed for this article. No official percentage, no pass-count report, and no yearly statistics. That absence is itself the most important "data point," and the rest of this article explains what you can reliably conclude from the information that does exist.
If you want the formal cut score first, see our breakdown of the CTA passing score. If you want a sense of effort, our CTA exam difficulty guide takes a qualitative approach.
What NI Actually Publishes (and What It Doesn't)
Here is the verified picture, drawn from NI's published preparation guide and corroborated by NI's Training and Certification Catalog, 2026 Edition:
| Item | Status | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Question count | Published | 40 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | Published | 60 minutes |
| Passing grade | Published | 75% per NI's preparation guide |
| Prerequisite | Published | Active Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) certification |
| Validity | Published | Four years |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed | Not stated in reviewed issuer sources |
| Domain weights | Not disclosed | Seven domains listed, no percentages |
| Aggregate pass rate | Not disclosed | No official figure in reviewed sources |
| Current exam fee | Not verified | Historical USD 99 figure only, from a 2022 PSI sheet |
A note of caution on the 40-question count and 75% threshold: they come from NI's preparation guide, which is explicitly labeled for TestStand 4.0 and carries no current revision year. The 2026 catalog independently confirms the one-hour multiple-choice format, the CTD prerequisite, and the four-year recertification interval, but we could not find a newer complete blueprint reconfirming the exact question count and percentage. Plan around them, and re-check NI's current pages when you register.
Pass Rate vs. Passing Score vs. Difficulty
These three ideas get blurred in search results, so separate them clearly:
- Passing score: the threshold you must reach. For CTA, NI's guide states 75%. On a 40-question exam, that works out to 30 correct answers if all 40 are scored. Because the scored/unscored split is not disclosed, treat 30 of 40 as a planning target rather than a guarantee.
- Pass rate: the share of all test-takers who meet that threshold. NI has not published this for CTA.
- Difficulty: a subjective judgment that depends on your hands-on TestStand experience, not on any published statistic.
A 75% cut score tells you nothing about the pass rate on its own. A demanding threshold can still produce a high pass rate if the candidate pool is highly prepared, and a modest threshold can produce a low one if candidates are underprepared. That is exactly why guessing a pass rate from the cut score alone is unreliable.
Why the Candidate Pool Shapes Outcomes
Even without a published rate, the structure of the credential tells you something about who takes it. CTA is a second-tier credential. You cannot sit it without an active Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) certification, and NI's badge guidance recommends 24 or more months developing medium-to-large TestStand applications. Completing the NI courses Developing Test Programs Using TestStand and Architecting Test Systems Using TestStand may substitute for six months of that recommended experience, but it does not substitute for CTD eligibility. See the full CTA requirements breakdown for the eligibility details.
Two consequences follow:
- Self-selection. Candidates are working test engineers who already passed an NI exam and typically have real project experience. That tends to pull outcomes upward relative to an open-enrollment exam, but we cannot quantify by how much.
- Experience gaps are the real failure mode. Someone who passed CTD by memorizing the UI may still struggle with architecture-level questions about process models, framework decisions, and API-driven customization. The exam rewards design judgment, not just recall.
- How a framework organizes sequences, process models, and user interfaces
- Where reusable components belong and why
- Trade-offs between building on a framework and starting from scratch
- Navigating the object hierarchy to read or modify sequences, steps, and results
- Choosing the right API call for a given automation need
- Understanding how external code interacts with the engine
- Creating custom step types and defining their properties and behaviors
- Substeps and how they run before and after the main step
- When a custom step type beats a reusable sequence
- Entry points and the model's execution flow
- Modifying a model safely versus overriding it incorrectly
- Handling sequence file callbacks and per-test-socket behavior
- Building or modifying an operator interface with the UI controls and API
- Handling UI messages and execution events
- Deciding what logic belongs in the UI versus the sequence
- Database logging options and schemas
- Customizing what gets logged and how it maps to tables
- Reasoning about performance and data-integrity trade-offs
- Balancing reuse, performance, and maintainability
- Choosing among competing architectural approaches
- Anticipating how a design behaves as the system grows
- Architecture questions favor reasoning. Domains 1 and 7 often present a scenario and ask which approach best fits. Eliminate options that violate maintainability or reuse principles.
- API and customization questions favor precision. Domains 2 through 6 reward knowing the right object, callback, or step-type behavior without lookup.
- With a 75% threshold, the margin for error is small. If all 40 questions count, you can miss at most 10. If some are unscored pretest items (not disclosed), your effective margin is unknown, so aim to be well above the line in practice.
- Does it cite NI? A real figure would trace back to NI's Certification program. If the source is a vendor blog, a dump-selling site, or a user-uploaded document, treat it as unverified.
- Does it name the credential precisely? If the page does not say "Certified TestStand Architect" and "National Instruments," it may be describing something else entirely.
- Does it pair the number with a sales pitch? Pass-rate claims bundled with "guaranteed pass" or instant-download braindump products are marketing, not data. Some such pages also show contradictory availability notices.
- Is it a candidate anecdote? Forum posts, like the 2017 NI Community discussion asking about preparation material, show candidates have long wanted guidance, but they are evidence of demand, not of outcomes.
- Provider: NI's current policy (updated July 2, 2026) points to Pearson VUE, with OnVUE remote proctoring or test-center delivery subject to availability. Pearson's NI program page corroborates this. Older NI badge pages and linked instructions still reference PSI; that legacy guidance does not establish the current provider, so register through the current NI process.
- Identity and environment: Online rules require a matching government-issued photo ID, a webcam, one screen, and a private workspace. Physical calculators and notepads are prohibited, though tools supplied inside the exam environment are permitted.
- Fee: The current USD price and any member/nonmember difference were not publicly verified. A PSI sheet from March 2022 listed USD 99 for CTA, but that is historical and not a verified 2026 Pearson price. Confirm the amount at checkout, and see our CTA certification cost guide for how to budget around the uncertainty.
- Adaptive delivery: Not documented, so do not assume the exam adapts to your performance.
- Revisit cumulative CTD topics the guide says CTA includes
- Rebuild small scripts against the TestStand API to cement object navigation
- Create a custom step type with substeps from scratch
- Modify a process model and trace entry-point execution
- Build or adapt an operator interface and handle execution events
- Customize database logging and inspect what is written
- Work scenario questions on framework and design trade-offs
- Take timed 40-question sets at about 90 seconds per item
Key Takeaway
Do not infer your odds from a small, self-selected pool. Measure your readiness against the seven published domains and the 75% bar, using scenario-based practice rather than guessing at a pass percentage.
A Domain Risk Map in Place of a Pass-Rate Number
Since no official weights exist, the most useful "data" you can generate is your own domain-by-domain confidence. NI lists seven exam objectives, and the guide also states that CTA includes cumulative CTD topics, so prerequisite material can resurface. Here is how to think about each domain. For a deeper walk-through, see our complete guide to the CTA exam domains.
Domain 1: Test frameworks
Questions here test whether you can reason about the overall structure of a test system rather than a single sequence.
Domain 2: TestStand API
Expect questions that check you know which objects and methods accomplish a task programmatically.
Domain 3: Customizing steps
This domain covers extending TestStand beyond built-in step types.
Domain 4: Customizing process models
Process models govern the work around your tests: setup, result handling, reporting, and teardown.
Domain 5: Customizing user interfaces
Operator interfaces are a common point of divergence between candidates who build them and those who only use them.
Domain 6: Customizing database interaction
Logging results to a database is a frequent real-world requirement.
Domain 7: Design considerations
These are the judgment questions: given a requirement, which design is most maintainable and scalable?
Rate yourself honestly on each domain. Because weights are unpublished, a weak area can cost you proportionally more than you expect. A candidate who is strong in four domains and shaky in three has few spare points against a 75% bar.
Question Style and the 75% Math
The format is multiple choice, with 40 questions in 60 minutes, which averages about 90 seconds per question. That is tight enough that you cannot afford to reconstruct sequence behavior from scratch on every item. The preparation guide prohibits TestStand and outside references during the exam, so there is no opening the software to check a property name.
Practical implications:
To rehearse this format under time pressure, run timed sets on our CTA practice test site.
How to Spot Bogus Pass-Rate Claims
Because NI does not disclose an aggregate figure, any precise percentage you see is either an unsourced estimate or a number imported from a different credential. The acronym "CTA" is shared by several unrelated certifications, and pass-rate statistics for those do not apply to the NI TestStand credential. Use these filters:
We also advise against braindump-style material generally. It cannot teach the architecture judgment the exam measures, and it carries its own risks. Build understanding instead, starting with our CTA study guide.
Delivery Logistics That Affect Your Result
Administrative problems cost candidates attempts, and those attempts feed into any real-world pass-rate statistic. The verified details:
Scheduling questions are covered in CTA exam dates and scheduling. Run your system check and read the OnVUE rules well before test day; a technical or ID problem on exam morning is an avoidable way to lose an attempt.
A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Timeline
This is the only generic-planning section in the article, and it is tied directly to the CTA domains. The ordering puts the most code-and-API-dependent material first, because it requires hands-on practice, and leaves design-judgment review for last, when you can reason across everything you have rebuilt.
Refresh CTD foundations and Domain 2
Domain 3 and Domain 4
Domain 5 and Domain 6
Domain 1, Domain 7, and timed practice
NI's TestStand Advanced Architecture Series (updated September 25, 2025) is useful supplemental reading for engineering practice, but it supplies guidance rather than additional official exam domains or weights, and it does not guarantee exhaustive exam coverage. For a one-page memory aid close to test day, use the CTA cheat sheet.
After the Exam: Validity and Renewal
The credential is valid for four years. To renew, you either retake the CTA exam or earn 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while your certification is active. These are not generic continuing-education credits, and they do not carry forward. NI's Recertification Policy and Process (updated April 30, 2026) also describes suspended and inactive status, so read it before your window closes.
An older document, the CTA Requirements and Conditions revised in February 2003, describes a USD 295 fee, practical development work, and two-year validity. Those conditions are superseded by the later exam guide and current policies, so disregard them if you encounter that PDF.
On career value: no current CTA-specific salary dataset or isolated certification premium was verified. TestStand architect job pay cannot by itself establish what the credential adds. If you are weighing whether the effort pays off, read our analyses on whether the CTA is worth it and the CTA salary guide with that limitation in mind.
Frequently Asked Questions
NI has not published an aggregate pass rate in the issuer sources reviewed. Any specific percentage you see online should be treated as unverified unless it cites NI directly and names the Certified TestStand Architect credential.
NI's published preparation guide states a 75% passing grade on a 40-question, 60-minute multiple-choice exam. The scored versus unscored question split is not disclosed, so aim comfortably above 75% in practice.
The CTD helps, since CTA includes cumulative CTD topics, but CTA emphasizes architecture, customization, and design judgment. Candidates with limited hands-on experience customizing step types and process models tend to find those domains the most demanding.
No. The preparation guide lists seven top-level domains without percentages, and no highest-weighted topic is published. Prepare across all seven rather than concentrating on a single area.
NI's current policy points to Pearson VUE, with OnVUE remote or test-center delivery subject to availability. The current USD fee was not publicly verified; a 2022 PSI sheet listed USD 99, but confirm the amount at registration.
Whatever the true pass rate is, your own readiness is what you can control. Work through the seven domains, rehearse under the 90-second-per-question pace, and validate your progress with scenario practice on the main CTA practice test site.