- The Number: 75% on 40 Questions
- What 75% Means in Question Terms
- What NI Does Not Publish
- Passing Score vs. Pass Rate vs. Difficulty
- Where Your Points Come From: The Seven Domains
- The TestStand 4.0 Label and What It Means for You
- Exam-Day Rules That Affect Your Score
- Planning an Attempt Around the Score
- After the Pass: Four-Year Validity and Renewal
- FAQ
- NI's published preparation guide sets the Certified TestStand Architect passing grade at 75% on a 40-question, 60-minute multiple-choice exam.
- Threshold arithmetic: 75% of 40 questions is 30 correct answers, if all 40 items are scored.
- NI does not publish the scored/unscored split, per-domain weights, or an aggregate pass rate.
- Active Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) status is required before you can sit for CTA at all.
The Number: 75% on 40 Questions
The Certified TestStand Architect (CTA) credential from National Instruments (NI) uses a single published pass threshold: 75%. According to NI's Certified TestStand Architect Exam Preparation Guide, the exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions delivered in 60 minutes. NI's Training and Certification Catalog (2026 Edition) independently confirms the one-hour multiple-choice format and the CTD prerequisite, which is a useful cross-check on the exam's general shape.
That is the whole of the officially published scoring story. There is no sliding scale, no published scaled-score range like 100 to 900, and no documentation that the exam adapts its difficulty as you answer. If you have read about other credentials that share the "CTA" acronym and use scaled scores or adaptive delivery, none of that applies here. This article is exclusively about the NI TestStand credential, and the only scoring facts it relies on are the ones NI publishes for it.
What 75% Means in Question Terms
On a 40-question exam, 75% works out to 30 correct answers. Put the other way, you can miss up to 10 questions and still reach the threshold, assuming every item counts toward your score.
That last assumption deserves care. NI's reviewed sources do not say whether all 40 items are scored or whether some are unscored pilot questions. Some certification programs embed unscored items to field-test new content, and if CTA does so, the effective denominator could be smaller than 40. Because NI does not disclose this, the safe planning assumption is the conservative one: treat every question as if it counts, and aim for a comfortable margin above 30 correct rather than targeting 30 exactly.
| Item | Published value | Source status |
|---|---|---|
| Question count | 40 multiple-choice | NI preparation guide; catalog confirms format |
| Time limit | 60 minutes | NI preparation guide; catalog confirms one hour |
| Passing grade | 75% | NI preparation guide |
| Correct answers needed (if all scored) | 30 of 40 | Arithmetic from the above |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed | Not in reviewed issuer sources |
| Per-domain weighting | Not disclosed | Seven domains listed, no percentages |
| Aggregate pass rate | Not disclosed | Not in reviewed issuer sources |
The time limit matters to the score as much as the threshold does. Sixty minutes for 40 questions is an average of 90 seconds per question. Architect-level questions about process model entry points or database schema mapping often involve reading a scenario, so you cannot afford to spend three minutes puzzling over one item. A reasonable approach is a first pass that answers everything you know quickly, flags the slow ones, and returns to flagged items with whatever time remains. Whether the exam interface supports flagging and review is a delivery detail to confirm in the Pearson VUE tutorial before you start.
What NI Does Not Publish
Honest passing-score guidance has to include the gaps, because several confident-sounding numbers circulate online that NI never published. As of the October 2026 research behind this article, the following are not available from issuer sources:
- Domain weights. The preparation guide lists seven top-level topics but gives no percentages and does not identify a highest-weighted topic. Any site claiming "Domain 2 is 25% of the exam" is inventing that figure.
- The scored/unscored split. Not disclosed.
- An aggregate pass rate. NI does not report one. Our dedicated page on the CTA pass rate explains what can and cannot be said about candidate outcomes.
- A currently verified exam fee. A historical PSI client sheet from March 2022 listed USD 99 for CTA, but that is not a verified 2026 Pearson VUE price. See the CTA certification cost breakdown for how to confirm current pricing at registration.
- A current revision date for the guide. The preparation guide is explicitly labeled TestStand 4.0 and carries no current revision year.
Passing Score vs. Pass Rate vs. Difficulty
Candidates often blur three separate questions. Keeping them apart helps you plan realistically.
Passing score: a fixed, published threshold
This is the 75% figure. It tells you what an individual attempt must achieve. It says nothing about how many people clear it.
Pass rate: a population statistic NI does not release
A pass rate would tell you what share of candidates succeed. Without an issuer-published number, any specific percentage you encounter is unverifiable. What can be said qualitatively is that the CTD prerequisite filters the candidate pool: everyone sitting CTA has already passed the developer-level exam, so the population skews toward experienced TestStand users. For a fuller treatment, read CTA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
Difficulty: your gap against the content
A 75% threshold is not inherently harsh, but architect-level questions test judgment about customization and design rather than button-click recall. The same threshold feels different to an engineer who has built custom process models in production than to one who has only run the stock models. Our guide on how hard the CTA exam is discusses where candidates typically feel the gap.
Where Your Points Come From: The Seven Domains
NI's preparation guide lists seven top-level exam topics, without weights. Because you cannot allocate study time by percentage, the practical approach is to be at least competent in all seven and strong in the ones closest to your day job. The guide also states that CTA includes cumulative CTD topics, and its seven headings do not exclude that prerequisite coverage, so developer-level fundamentals can still appear on the exam.
Domain 1: Test frameworks
Architect-level questions here are about structure: how a test system is organized so it scales across stations, products and teams.
- How sequences, sequence files and the engine fit into a larger framework
- Reuse and organization decisions across a multi-station deployment
- Trade-offs between building on the shipping framework and extending it
Domain 2: TestStand API
Expect scenario questions where you must pick the correct object, method or property to accomplish a task programmatically.
- The object hierarchy (engine, sequence files, sequences, steps, executions, threads)
- When to use the API versus the development environment
- Calling the API from external code, including from a custom UI or operator interface
Domain 3: Customizing steps
Custom step types let an architect encode a behavior once and reuse it consistently.
- What a step type is made of: properties, substeps and edit/run-time behavior
- When a custom step type beats a plain code module
- Maintenance consequences of changing a step type already deployed in sequences
Domain 4: Customizing process models
Process models wrap every UUT test with the setup, reporting and cleanup logic that makes a station behave consistently.
- Entry points and how they relate to the model's execution flow
- Where to modify behavior without breaking upgrade paths
- Which responsibilities belong in the model versus in the test sequence
Domain 5: Customizing user interfaces
The operator interface is how production staff experience your system, and architects decide how it is built.
- Choosing between shipping UI and a custom interface
- How a UI connects to the engine and responds to execution events
- Separating UI concerns from test logic
Domain 6: Customizing database interaction
Test data logging is a core production requirement, and questions here test how well you can adapt it.
- How result data maps to database schemas
- Where in the architecture logging is configured and customized
- Performance and data-integrity considerations when logging at scale
Domain 7: Design considerations
This domain rewards judgment: given constraints, which architecture is most defensible?
- Trade-offs among maintainability, performance and deployment effort
- Choosing where to customize and where to leave shipping behavior alone
- Reasoning about a design from requirements rather than from memorized steps
For a deeper tour of each topic, see CTA Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas. If you want to test yourself against scenario-style items while you read, the CTA practice test site is built around these seven topics.
The TestStand 4.0 Label and What It Means for You
One detail trips up careful candidates: NI's preparation guide explicitly labels TestStand 4.0 and gives no current revision year. That label is the guide's version marker, not a claim about the latest TestStand release and not evidence of a newly issued 2026 exam version. No newer complete blueprint, and no independent reconfirmation of the 40-question count and 75% threshold from a newer issuer document, was found during research.
Practically, this cuts two ways. On the reassuring side, the 2026 NI catalog independently confirms the one-hour multiple-choice format, the CTD prerequisite and the four-year recertification interval, so the broad contours are corroborated. On the cautious side, you should assume the guide is the best available blueprint but not necessarily a perfect mirror of today's question pool. Study the concepts in the seven domains rather than memorizing menu locations from any single TestStand version, since concepts like process model entry points and step type structure persist across releases while UI details shift.
Key Takeaway
Treat the preparation guide as your scope document and current TestStand documentation as your accuracy check. Where they appear to disagree on a detail, learn the concept, note the difference, and favor the principle that survives across versions.
Exam-Day Rules That Affect Your Score
Your score depends on what you can do with no help. The preparation guide prohibits TestStand and outside references during the exam. You cannot open the development environment to check how a property behaves, and you cannot consult documentation. Everything must come from recall and reasoning, which is why hands-on repetition matters more than reading.
Current delivery logistics
The current testing provider is Pearson VUE, with OnVUE remote proctoring or test-center delivery subject to availability, under NI's Online NI Certification Exams policy (updated July 2, 2026) and corroborated by Pearson's NI program page. Older NI badge pages and linked instructions still reference PSI. That legacy guidance conflicts with the current policy and does not establish the current provider, so register through the path NI's current policy describes.
If you take the exam online, current rules require:
- A matching government-issued photo ID
- A webcam and a single screen
- A private workspace
- No physical calculators or notepads, though tools supplied inside the exam environment are permitted
A technical or compliance problem at check-in can cost you focus or even the attempt, so test your setup in advance. Prerequisite and eligibility details are covered in CTA Requirements 2026, and scheduling mechanics in CTA Exam Dates 2026.
Planning an Attempt Around the Score
You need 30 correct answers if every item is scored, and no published weights tell you which domains are safest to under-prepare. That argues for breadth first, then depth. One short, CTA-specific sequencing that works for most candidates:
Foundations you already half-own
- Re-read Domain 1 (Test frameworks) and refresh CTD-level material, since CTA is cumulative
- Sketch your own framework layout from memory, then compare it to the guide
The API and step types
- Work Domain 2 (TestStand API) and Domain 3 (Customizing steps) together, since step types and API objects share concepts
- Rebuild a small custom step type without notes
Process models and data
- Study Domain 4 (Customizing process models) and Domain 6 (Customizing database interaction) as a pair, because logging flows through the model
- Trace one UUT run from entry point to result record
UI, design judgment and timed practice
- Cover Domain 5 (Customizing user interfaces) and Domain 7 (Design considerations)
- Take timed sets at about 90 seconds per question and review every miss by domain
That ordering is a suggestion, not an NI requirement. Adjust it if your daily work already covers some domains. For the fuller plan, including resources such as NI's Advanced Architecture Series (which supplies engineering guidance but not additional official exam domains), read the CTA study guide, and keep the CTA cheat sheet for last-day review.
After the Pass: Four-Year Validity and Renewal
A passing score earns a credential valid for four years. To renew, you either retake CTA or earn 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while your certification is active. These are not generic continuing-education credits, and they do not carry forward from one cycle to the next. NI's Recertification Policy and Process (updated April 30, 2026) also describes suspended and inactive status, so read it before your window closes.
As for value, no CTA-specific salary dataset or isolated certification premium was verified, and pay for TestStand architect roles cannot by itself establish what the credential adds. If you are weighing the investment, our analyses of whether CTA is worth it and the CTA salary picture separate role compensation from credential ROI. To explore openings that mention the credential, see CTA jobs.
FAQ
NI's published preparation guide sets the passing grade at 75% on a 40-question multiple-choice exam with a 60-minute limit. If all 40 questions are scored, that equals 30 correct answers.
NI's reviewed sources do not disclose the scored/unscored split. Plan as though every question counts and aim for a margin above 30 correct rather than exactly 30.
No. The guide lists seven top-level exam topics without percentages, and no aggregate pass rate appears in reviewed issuer sources. Treat any specific weight or pass-rate figure from a third party as unverified.
No. The preparation guide prohibits TestStand and outside references. For online delivery, physical calculators and notepads are also prohibited, though tools supplied in the exam environment are allowed.
Yes. An active Certified TestStand Developer certification is the prerequisite, and CTA also includes cumulative CTD topics. NI recommends 24 or more months developing medium-to-large TestStand applications; approved courses may substitute for some recommended experience but not for CTD eligibility. For readiness practice, try the sample questions on the CTA Exam Prep practice site.