CTA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTA Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • CTA here means Certified TestStand Architect, issued by National Instruments; it requires an active CTD certification first.
  • Published format: 40 multiple-choice questions, 60 minutes, 75% to pass, with no TestStand or outside references allowed.
  • NI's guide lists seven unweighted domains, from Test frameworks to Design considerations.
  • Certification lasts four years; renew by retaking the exam or earning 50 NI-approved points.

Which CTA This Sheet Covers

"CTA" is a crowded acronym. This page is only about the Certified TestStand Architect credential from National Instruments (NI), the advanced tier of the TestStand certification track for test-system engineers. If you landed here looking for a different credential that shares the abbreviation, this is not that page. For plain-language orientation, see What Is CTA Certification? or What Does CTA Stand For?.

The sections below compress what NI publishes into a single review pass. Where NI publishes nothing (weights, pass rate, current fee), this sheet says so rather than guessing.

Exam Format at a Glance

ItemWhat NI's published guidance says
IssuerNational Instruments Corporation
Question typeMultiple choice
Number of questions40
Time limit60 minutes
Passing grade75%
References during examTestStand and outside references prohibited
PrerequisiteActive Certified TestStand Developer (CTD)
ValidityFour years
Adaptive deliveryNot documented

The arithmetic is simple: 75% of 40 questions is 30 correct answers, and 60 minutes works out to an average of 90 seconds per question. That pace is tight for scenario-style items that ask you to choose between several plausible TestStand designs, so reading speed matters. For a deeper breakdown of the threshold, read CTA Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Source caveat: The 40-question, 60-minute, 75% figures come from NI's exam preparation guide, which is labeled for TestStand 4.0 and carries no current revision year. NI's 2026 training and certification catalog independently confirms the one-hour multiple-choice format, the CTD prerequisite and the four-year interval, but no newer source re-confirms the 40-question count or the 75% threshold. Check NI's current pages before exam day.

Eligibility and the CTD Gate

The hard prerequisite is an active CTD certification. No separate degree, reference letter or mandatory training-hour requirement was verified in the sources reviewed. Because CTD must be active, a lapsed CTD is the most common administrative trap: check your status before you pay for anything.

NI's badge guidance also recommends 24 or more months developing medium-to-large TestStand applications. Recommendation is not requirement. Two NI courses, Developing Test Programs Using TestStand and Architecting Test Systems Using TestStand, may substitute for six months of that recommended experience. They do not substitute for CTD eligibility itself.

NI's preparation guide also says CTA includes cumulative CTD topics. In practice, plan to retain developer-level fluency (sequences, step settings, variables, expressions, run-time behavior) alongside the seven architect-level headings. More on gating rules appears in CTA Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Registration, Fees and Delivery Rules

Testing provider

NI's current online-exam policy (updated July 2, 2026) names Pearson VUE as the testing provider, with OnVUE remote proctoring or test-center delivery subject to availability. Pearson's own NI program page corroborates this. Older NI badge pages and linked instructions still mention PSI. That is legacy guidance and does not establish the current provider. If two pages disagree, follow the current NI policy page and your Pearson VUE account.

Fee

The current USD fee, and any member versus nonmember pricing, was not publicly verified. The only number on record is USD 99, from a PSI client information sheet modified March 30, 2022. Treat it as history, not a 2026 Pearson price. An even older 2003 requirements document lists USD 295, a practical development component and two-year validity; those conditions were superseded by later policies. Budget questions are covered in CTA Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Online exam environment rules

  • Government-issued photo ID that matches your registration name
  • A working webcam and a single screen
  • A private workspace
  • No physical calculators or notepads; tools supplied inside the exam environment are permitted
  • No TestStand and no outside references during the exam

For scheduling windows and deadlines, see CTA Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

The Seven Domains in One Pass

NI's preparation guide lists seven top-level objectives on pages 3 to 7. No official percentages or highest-weighted topic are published, so do not trust any site that quotes domain weights as official. Allocate review time by your own gaps, not by invented ratios. The full walkthrough lives in CTA Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

#DomainOne-line review prompt
1Test frameworksHow do sequences, process models, adapters and UIs fit into one system design?
2TestStand APIWhich objects and methods do you call, and from where?
3Customizing stepsWhen do you build a custom step type rather than reuse a built-in one?
4Customizing process modelsWhich entry point or model callback do you modify, and what must you leave alone?
5Customizing user interfacesHow does a custom operator interface drive and observe an execution?
6Customizing database interactionHow do result logging and schema mapping get adapted to a site's needs?
7Design considerationsWhich architecture choice survives deployment, maintenance and scale?

API, Step Type and Process Model Quick Notes

Domain 1: Test frameworks

This domain is about system-level thinking: how the pieces of a TestStand deployment relate before any customization starts.

  • Be able to explain where the sequence file, process model, operator interface and adapters each sit in the architecture.
  • Know which concerns belong in the framework and which belong in individual test sequences.
  • Expect scenario questions that describe a lab's requirements and ask which structural choice fits.

Domain 2: TestStand API

The API lets external code and custom components interact with the engine. Questions test whether you know which object represents what.

  • Review the core object hierarchy: engine, sequence files, sequences, steps, executions, threads and results.
  • Practice reading a short description of desired behavior and identifying the object and operation involved.
  • Know when API access is appropriate versus using built-in step settings or expressions.

Domain 3: Customizing steps

Custom step types package reusable behavior, properties and editing support.

  • Understand what a step type defines: default properties, substeps, and how the step edits and executes.
  • Be able to decide between a custom step type, a reusable subsequence and a plain code module.
  • Recall what happens to existing steps when a step type definition changes.

Domain 4: Customizing process models

Process models wrap your test sequence with setup, reporting and cleanup logic. The classic discipline is modifying the right layer.

  • Know the difference between entry points and the model's callbacks, and which one a given request should touch.
  • Understand why you customize a copy or an overriding file rather than editing shipped model files in place.
  • Be ready to trace what runs, and in what order, when an execution begins and ends.
Worked scenario (original): A production line needs every unit's serial number validated before testing, and a different report footer at one customer site. The architect's question is not "can TestStand do this?" but "which layer owns it?" Serial validation fits a process model pre-test stage; a site-specific footer fits report customization. Putting either inside every test sequence would create duplication that Domain 7 warns against.

User Interface, Database and Design Notes

Domain 5: Customizing user interfaces

Operator interfaces are applications built on top of the engine.

  • Understand how a UI starts, monitors and controls executions, and how it responds to engine events.
  • Know what the stock interfaces offer and when a custom one is justified.
  • Review how UI-level decisions interact with process-model behavior such as login and result display.

Domain 6: Customizing database interaction

Result logging to a database is a standard requirement in production test.

  • Review how results map from TestStand data to database tables and columns.
  • Know what you can adjust (schemas, mappings, which data is logged) and the trade-offs of logging more or less.
  • Expect questions about choosing between built-in logging and a custom approach.

Domain 7: Design considerations

This domain rewards judgment more than recall.

  • Weigh maintainability, reuse, deployment, performance and operator experience against each other.
  • For any scenario, ask what breaks when the system is upgraded, copied to a second station or handed to another team.
  • Prefer the answer that centralizes shared behavior and minimizes edits to shipped components.

Key Takeaway

Across Domains 3 through 6, the recurring architect habit is the same: customize at the narrowest layer that solves the requirement, and keep shipped components intact. Domain 7 questions often test that habit directly.

What Is Not Published

A good cheat sheet is honest about gaps. These items are not disclosed in the NI sources reviewed:

  • Domain weights: the seven headings are unweighted.
  • Aggregate pass rate: unpublished. Passing score (75%) and pass rate are different things; see CTA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
  • Scored versus unscored question split: not disclosed.
  • Current exam fee: not verified.
  • Current exam version: the guide is labeled TestStand 4.0 with no current revision year. That is a label on the document, not a claim about the latest software release or a newly issued 2026 exam.

The mismatch between a 4.0-labeled guide and current TestStand releases has a practical consequence: study the architectural concepts the guide names, but verify that any feature you rely on still behaves the way you remember in a version you can actually run. For difficulty perspective, see How Hard Is the CTA Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Validity and the 50-Point Renewal Rule

CTA is valid for four years. NI's recertification policy (updated April 30, 2026) gives two routes:

  1. Retake the CTA exam, or
  2. Earn 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while your certification is active.

Points are not generic continuing-education units, and they do not carry forward. The same policy describes suspended and inactive statuses, so do not leave renewal to the last month. A simple tracking checklist:

  • Record the date your credential became active and the date it expires.
  • Log each qualifying activity with its date, title and NI's approval reference.
  • Confirm each activity falls inside your active period before counting it.
  • Note your running total against the 50-point target.
  • Decide at the two-year mark whether retaking the exam would be easier than accumulating points.

Career Context

CTA holders typically work on automated test systems in manufacturing and validation environments, where someone must own the test framework rather than just write individual tests. Job titles vary, and a TestStand architect role is not proof that the certification itself earns a pay premium. No CTA-specific salary dataset or isolated credential premium was verified, so any precise figure you see should be treated skeptically. For balanced discussion, read CTA Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the CTA Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

CTD versus CTA, and the LabVIEW comparison

CTD proves you can build and debug TestStand applications; CTA adds the customization and system-design layer on top and requires CTD to be active. Certified LabVIEW Architect is a separate NI credential on a different software track, so the two are not interchangeable. If your daily work is TestStand framework design, CTA fits; if it is LabVIEW application architecture, the LabVIEW track is the better match.

A Domain-Ordered Review Schedule

Because NI publishes no weights, order your review by dependency rather than by assumed importance. Foundations first, judgment last. The full approach is in the CTA Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt; here is a compact version tied to the seven domains.

Week 1

CTD refresh and Domain 1

  • Re-verify core developer topics, since CTA includes cumulative CTD content.
  • Sketch the framework architecture from memory.
Week 2

Domain 2: TestStand API

  • Build a short external program that launches and monitors an execution.
  • Map each object to the problem it solves.
Week 3

Domains 3 and 4

  • Create one custom step type and trace its behavior.
  • Modify a copied process model and follow the execution order.
Week 4

Domains 5 and 6

  • Review a custom operator interface and its event handling.
  • Walk through result logging from step to database table.
Week 5

Domain 7 and timed practice

  • Work scenario questions on design trade-offs.
  • Practice at 90 seconds per question, with no references.

NI also publishes a TestStand Advanced Architecture Series (updated September 25, 2025) that is useful engineering preparation. It is not an official source of exam domains or weights, so use it to deepen understanding rather than to define scope. For timed drills, try the CTA practice tests, and see CTA Training for course options.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the Certified TestStand Architect exam?

NI's published preparation guide states a 75% passing grade on a 40-question, 60-minute multiple-choice exam. That equals 30 correct answers if all questions count. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly disclosed, so confirm current details with NI before testing.

Do I need CTD before taking CTA?

Yes. An active Certified TestStand Developer certification is the stated prerequisite. NI's courses can substitute for six months of the recommended 24 months of experience, but they do not replace CTD eligibility.

How much does the CTA exam cost?

The current USD fee and any member or nonmember pricing were not publicly verified. A 2022 PSI-era sheet listed USD 99, but that is historical, not a confirmed Pearson VUE price. Check your NI and Pearson VUE accounts at registration.

Can I use TestStand or notes during the exam?

No. NI's preparation guide prohibits TestStand and outside references. Online rules also bar physical calculators and notepads, though tools supplied inside the exam environment are allowed.

How do I renew CTA after four years?

Either retake the exam or earn 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while your credential was active. The points are not generic CEUs and do not carry forward, so track them from the start of your cycle.

Ready to pass your CTA exam?

Put this into practice with free CTA questions across every exam domain.