CTA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTA Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • The only hard prerequisite for Certified TestStand Architect is an active Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) certification.
  • NI recommends 24+ months building medium-to-large TestStand applications; two NI courses may substitute for six months of that, not for CTD.
  • The exam is 40 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes with a 75% passing grade, per NI's preparation guide.
  • Pearson VUE is the current provider; older NI badge pages still mention PSI.

Which CTA This Article Covers

The acronym CTA is shared by several unrelated credentials and by a common marketing term. This article is only about the Certified TestStand Architect, issued by National Instruments (NI) for engineers who design and customize test systems built on NI TestStand. If you arrived looking for a tax, CRM, IT-service, or travel credential, or for the marketing meaning of "call to action," the pages on what CTA is, what CTA stands for, and CTA meaning will orient you before you go further.

For everyone else, the question is practical: what exactly do I need before I can sit this exam, and what will the exam then expect of me? This guide answers both, using NI's published preparation guide, its Training and Certification Catalog, and its current exam-delivery and recertification policies. Where public sources are silent or conflict, the article says so rather than guessing.

The One Hard Requirement: Active CTD

NI's published prerequisite for CTA is an active Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) certification. This is the single gate that determines eligibility. NI's Training and Certification Catalog (2026 Edition) independently confirms the same CTD prerequisite alongside the one-hour multiple-choice format and the four-year recertification interval.

Two details matter here:

  • "Active" is the operative word. A CTD that has lapsed, been suspended, or moved to inactive status under NI's recertification policy does not satisfy the prerequisite. If your CTD is approaching the end of its validity window, handle that renewal first.
  • CTD is cumulative with CTA. NI's preparation guide states that the CTA exam includes cumulative CTD topics. Holding the CTD does not mean you can forget the developer-level material; it means the architect exam assumes you still own it.
Sequence, not shortcut: There is no documented path that lets you skip CTD and go straight to CTA. NI's training courses can contribute toward recommended experience, but they do not replace CTD eligibility. Plan CTD first, CTA second.

If you are weighing whether the progression is worth the effort, the CTA ROI analysis and salary guide separate role compensation from any verified credential premium, which is an important distinction because no CTA-specific salary dataset has been verified.

Recommended Experience vs. Mandatory Eligibility

NI's badge guidance recommends 24 or more months of experience developing medium-to-large TestStand applications. Note the word "recommends." Based on the sources reviewed, this is guidance about readiness, not a verified mandatory eligibility check. No source reviewed describes NI auditing your project history before allowing registration.

That said, the recommendation is meaningful because of what the exam asks. Architect-level questions are about customization and design tradeoffs: modifying process models, extending step types, building operator interfaces, and integrating database logging. Those are things you only learn by shipping real systems, which is why the experience figure is set at two years or more of medium-to-large work rather than a few small sequences.

How training courses fit in

NI states that completing Developing Test Programs Using TestStand and Architecting Test Systems Using TestStand may substitute for six months of the recommended experience. Three limits apply:

  1. It offsets recommended experience only, never the CTD prerequisite.
  2. The wording is "may substitute," so treat it as a reduction in the recommendation, not a guarantee of readiness.
  3. Six months is the stated offset; the sources do not describe it as scaling with additional courses.

For a look at training options and how they line up with exam topics, see the overview of CTA training.

What You Are Not Required to Have

Candidates sometimes assume an architect-level credential carries a long list of formal conditions. For CTA, reviewed sources verified none of the following as mandatory:

  • A specific college degree
  • Reference letters or employer verification
  • A minimum number of formal training hours
  • Membership in an NI program

The absence of a verified requirement is not the same as a guarantee that none exists, so confirm against NI's current registration screens before you commit. But the practical reading is clear: your CTD status and your hands-on capability are what count.

Beware of outdated conditions: An old NI document, Certified TestStand Architect Requirements and Conditions (revised February 2003), describes a USD 295 fee, practical development, and two-year validity. Those terms are historical and have been superseded by the later exam guide and current NI policies. If you see them quoted on a third-party site, treat that site as outdated.

Exam Format You Qualify For

Meeting the requirements puts you in front of a compact exam. According to NI's published preparation guide:

ItemPublished detail
Question count40 multiple-choice questions
Time limit60 minutes
Passing grade75%
References during examTestStand and outside references prohibited
ValidityFour years
Scored/unscored splitNot publicly disclosed
Aggregate pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Sixty minutes for forty questions averages 90 seconds each, and many architect questions describe a scenario (a process model with a specific behavior, a step-type customization, a database schema constraint) before asking what should happen or what should change. Because you cannot open TestStand to check, you have to recall behavior from experience. The pages on the CTA passing score, pass-rate data, and exam difficulty explain why a 75% threshold, an undisclosed pass rate, and perceived difficulty are three separate questions.

Version caveat you should know about

NI's preparation guide explicitly labels TestStand 4.0 and provides no current revision year. That label is the guide's version marker, not a claim about the latest TestStand release or a newly issued 2026 exam. No newer complete blueprint and no independent reconfirmation of the 40-question count and 75% threshold was verified. In practice, the seven topic headings are stable enough to study against, but confirm the format on your registration page.

Registration Logistics: Pearson VUE vs. Legacy PSI Pages

This is where candidates most often get confused. NI's current online exam policy (updated July 2, 2026) and Pearson's EMERSON-NI program page (updated July 24, 2026) identify Pearson VUE as the current testing provider, with OnVUE remote proctoring or test-center delivery depending on availability. Older NI badge pages and linked instructions still reference PSI. That legacy guidance conflicts with the current policy and should not be used to determine your provider.

Remote-proctoring conditions

If you test online, current rules require:

  • Matching government-issued photo ID
  • A webcam
  • One screen
  • A private workspace

Physical calculators and notepads are prohibited, though tools supplied inside the exam environment are permitted. Adaptive delivery is not documented. Because TestStand and outside references are also prohibited, your preparation has to be recall-based, not lookup-based.

For scheduling windows, deadlines, and how to book, see the dedicated guide to CTA exam dates.

Fees: What Is and Is Not Verified

Be careful with price claims. The current USD exam fee and any member/nonmember pricing were not publicly verified in the sources reviewed. The only price figure found for CTA is historical: a PSI client information sheet modified March 30, 2022 listed USD 99. That is not a verified 2026 Pearson price, and it should not be quoted as one.

Budget by confirming, not assuming: Check the live fee at the point of registration. When you plan your total spend, include any CTD renewal costs you may owe to stay eligible, plus training if you choose it. The CTA certification cost breakdown walks through how to structure that budget without relying on unverified figures.

Mapping Your Experience to the Seven Exam Topics

NI's preparation guide (pages 3-7) lists seven top-level objectives. NI publishes no official topic percentages and no stated highest-weighted topic, so do not trust any site that claims precise weights. What you can do is audit your experience against each domain and identify where you have only touched the surface.

Domain 1: Test frameworks

Architect-level thinking starts with how a whole test system is organized, not a single sequence.

  • Have you structured reusable sequence libraries across multiple stations or products?
  • Can you explain how framework choices affect maintainability across a large deployment?

Domain 2: TestStand API

Programmatic control of the engine, executions, and sequence objects.

  • Have you written code that launches, monitors, or manipulates executions rather than only editing sequences in the environment?
  • Do you know how property and object access behaves from external code?

Domain 3: Customizing steps

Creating or modifying step types to change what a step does and how it presents.

  • Have you built a custom step type with its own properties and behavior?
  • Can you reason about substeps and when customization beats copying sequence logic?

Domain 4: Customizing process models

Altering the entry points and flow that wrap every sequence execution.

  • Have you modified a process model rather than only using the defaults?
  • Do you understand where model changes belong versus changes in sequence files?

Domain 5: Customizing user interfaces

Building or adapting operator interfaces on top of the engine.

  • Have you written or modified an operator interface that talks to the TestStand engine?
  • Can you explain how UI responsiveness relates to execution events?

Domain 6: Customizing database interaction

Controlling how results are logged to a database.

  • Have you adapted logging schemas or database behavior to a real requirement?
  • Do you know where data mapping and schema choices constrain what you can report?

Domain 7: Design considerations

The judgment domain: weighing tradeoffs in architecture decisions.

  • Can you justify a design choice against its alternatives for a specific scenario?
  • Have you lived with the consequences of design decisions in a long-running system?

Remember that cumulative CTD topics are also in scope, and the seven headings do not exclude that prerequisite coverage. For a full walkthrough of each content area, read the CTA exam domains guide, and keep the CTA cheat sheet handy for quick review.

A Qualification Timeline Built Around the Domains

If you already hold an active CTD and have meaningful project time behind you, sequence your preparation so the domains that demand hands-on rehearsal come early. This is one possible plan, not an NI-mandated schedule:

Weeks 1-2

Verify eligibility and rebuild the foundation

  • Confirm your CTD is active and note its expiration.
  • Review CTD-level material, since it is cumulative on the exam.
  • Skim the seven NI headings and mark where your project history is thin.
Weeks 3-4

Customization domains by hand

  • Build a small custom step type and modify a process model in a sandbox (Domains 3 and 4).
  • Exercise the TestStand API from code (Domain 2).
Weeks 5-6

Interfaces, data, and design judgment

  • Work through UI and database customization scenarios (Domains 5 and 6).
  • Practice defending architecture decisions in writing (Domains 1 and 7).
Week 7

Timed recall

  • Take timed question sets without opening TestStand, matching the no-reference exam rule.

For the full approach, see the CTA study guide, and when you are ready to drill scenario-style questions, try the CTA practice tests.

Staying Qualified: Four-Year Validity and 50 Points

Qualifying is not a one-time event. CTA is valid for four years. To renew, you can either retake the exam or earn 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while your certification is active. These points are not generic continuing education credits, and they do not carry forward from one cycle to the next.

NI's Recertification Policy and Process (updated April 30, 2026) also describes suspended and inactive status, so read it before your window closes. Your CTD status matters here too, since the prerequisite is an active CTD. Keeping both credentials current is the cleanest way to protect your standing. If you are exploring career outcomes, CTA jobs covers who tends to look for this skill set. If you want the general overview of the credential itself, start with CTA certification or what CTA certification is.

Key Takeaway

Treat your CTD as a living prerequisite. Check its expiration before you register, and plan your CTA renewal path (retake or 50 points) well before the four-year mark so neither credential lapses.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need CTD before taking the Certified TestStand Architect exam?

Yes. An active Certified TestStand Developer certification is the published prerequisite for CTA. NI's courses can offset some recommended experience, but they do not replace CTD eligibility.

Is the 24-month experience figure mandatory?

NI's badge guidance recommends 24 or more months developing medium-to-large TestStand applications. The reviewed sources frame it as a recommendation, not a verified mandatory check. Completing Developing Test Programs Using TestStand and Architecting Test Systems Using TestStand may substitute for six months of it.

Who delivers the exam now, Pearson VUE or PSI?

NI's current online exam policy and Pearson's program page identify Pearson VUE, with OnVUE remote proctoring or test-center delivery depending on availability. Older badge pages still mention PSI, but that legacy guidance does not establish the current provider.

How much does the CTA exam cost in 2026?

The current USD fee and any member/nonmember pricing were not publicly verified. The only figure found is a historical USD 99 from a 2022 PSI sheet, which is not a verified 2026 Pearson price. Confirm the live price when you register.

How long does CTA last, and how do I renew?

CTA is valid for four years. You can renew by retaking the exam or earning 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while certified. Those points are not generic CEUs and do not carry forward.

Ready to pass your CTA exam?

Put this into practice with free CTA questions across every exam domain.