- What the Certified TestStand Architect Credential Is
- Which "CTA" Are We Talking About?
- Eligibility: The CTD Gate and Experience Guidance
- Exam Format, Delivery and Exam-Day Rules
- The Seven Exam Topics in Depth
- Fees, Pearson VUE and Legacy PSI Confusion
- Passing Score, Pass Rate and Difficulty
- Scenario Thinking: How Architect-Level Questions Work
- A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Plan
- CTD vs CTA, and CTA vs Certified LabVIEW Architect
- Validity and the 50-Point Renewal Route
- Careers, Salary and Credential Value
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CTA is National Instruments' top TestStand credential and requires an active Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) certification first.
- NI's preparation guide describes 40 multiple-choice questions, 60 minutes and a 75% passing grade.
- The guide lists seven topics, from test frameworks to design considerations, with no published weightings.
- Current testing runs through Pearson VUE, but the current USD fee was not publicly verified.
What the Certified TestStand Architect Credential Is
The Certified TestStand Architect (CTA) is a National Instruments (NI) certification aimed at engineers who design, customize and extend NI TestStand test-management environments. Where the entry-level and developer credentials focus on building sequences that run, the architect credential focuses on building the system around those sequences: the frameworks, custom step types, modified process models, operator interfaces and database layers that a production test organization depends on.
That distinction explains the exam's flavor. A candidate is not simply asked what a feature does; the questions reward knowing which extension point to use, what the trade-offs are, and where a design will break at scale. If you are new to the acronym and its many meanings, our explainers on what CTA certification is and what CTA stands for cover the basics, while this article goes deeper into the TestStand credential itself.
Which "CTA" Are We Talking About?
The abbreviation CTA is shared by several unrelated credentials in tax, enterprise software and travel. This site and this article concern only the NI Certified TestStand Architect. Nothing here applies to any other credential that uses the same three letters, and you should not borrow fees, dates, pass rates or salary figures from them. If you searched "CTA exam" and landed on pricing or domain lists that mention tax filings, customer-relationship platforms or travel advising, you were reading about a different program.
The NI credential is governed by National Instruments, tested through its certification program, and built around TestStand software. Everything below traces to NI's published preparation guide, learning center pages, catalog and policy documents.
Eligibility: The CTD Gate and Experience Guidance
The single hard prerequisite is an active Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) certification. No separate mandatory degree, reference letter or training-hour requirement was verified in NI's published materials. For a full breakdown, see our guide to CTA requirements and eligibility.
NI's badge guidance adds a recommendation rather than a rule: 24 or more months of experience developing medium-to-large TestStand applications. Completing the courses Developing Test Programs Using TestStand and Architecting Test Systems Using TestStand may substitute for six months of that recommended experience. Note carefully what the course substitution does and does not do: it offsets part of the experience recommendation, but it does not replace CTD eligibility.
Exam Format, Delivery and Exam-Day Rules
According to NI's published preparation guide, the CTA exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes, with a 75% passing grade. NI's 2026 training and certification catalog independently confirms the one-hour multiple-choice format. Two caveats apply. First, the split between scored and unscored questions is not publicly disclosed. Second, no current independent reconfirmation of the 40-question count and 75% threshold was verified beyond the guide itself, so treat those figures as the published guidance and confirm them at registration. Adaptive delivery is not documented.
Sixty minutes for 40 questions leaves roughly a minute and a half per item, which is tight for scenario-style questions that describe a system and ask for the best extension approach. Pacing matters, and our CTA passing score guide unpacks what 75% means in question terms.
Rules that affect how you prepare
- The preparation guide prohibits TestStand and outside references during the exam. This is a closed-book test, so API names, property paths and step-type concepts must live in memory.
- Online delivery requires matching government-issued photo ID, a webcam, one screen and a private workspace.
- Physical calculators and notepads are prohibited, though tools supplied inside the exam environment are permitted.
Because you cannot open the TestStand Sequence Editor mid-exam, practice recalling object model hierarchies and callback names from scratch rather than recognizing them on screen.
The Seven Exam Topics in Depth
NI's preparation guide lists seven top-level objectives. They are unweighted: no official percentages and no declared highest-weighted topic exist. The guide also explicitly labels TestStand 4.0 and says the CTA includes cumulative CTD topics, and its seven headings do not exclude that prerequisite coverage. In practice, assume developer-level knowledge (sequence structure, variables, expressions, flow control, adapters, results) is fair game alongside the architect material. For a domain-by-domain companion, read CTA exam domains: all 7 content areas.
Domain 1: Test Frameworks
Frameworks are the architectural skeleton of a test system: how station configuration, sequence organization, reuse and deployment fit together.
- How to structure sequence files, subsequences and code modules for reuse across products
- Where the framework ends and project-specific content begins
- Trade-offs between building a custom framework and extending the shipped components
Domain 2: TestStand API
The API is how external code, custom UIs and tools talk to the engine. Closed-book rules make this domain memory-heavy.
- The object model: engine, execution, thread, sequence file, sequence, step and property objects
- Accessing and manipulating sequences and variables programmatically
- Using the API from code modules written in different development environments
Domain 3: Customizing Steps
Custom step types let an organization encode its own test semantics once and reuse them everywhere.
- Creating step types with their own properties, edit-time behavior and run-time substeps
- Step-type substeps (such as pre-step and post-step behavior) and when each executes
- Deciding between a custom step type, a code module and a sequence callback
Domain 4: Customizing Process Models
The process model governs what happens around every UUT: identification, initialization, result handling and reporting.
- Entry points, model callbacks and how client sequence files hook into them
- Safe modification versus copying and overriding the shipped models
- Controlling parallel and batch testing behavior at the model level
Domain 5: Customizing User Interfaces
Operator interfaces are built on the engine through the API and UI controls.
- How a custom UI launches executions and reacts to engine events
- Separating operator-facing display from engine logic
- Choosing between modifying a shipped interface and building one from scratch
Domain 6: Customizing Database Interaction
Test data eventually has to land somewhere durable and queryable.
- How result data maps to database schemas and logging options
- Customizing what is logged and how it is stored
- Considerations around volume, structure and downstream analysis
Domain 7: Design Considerations
The catch-all architecture domain: choosing among all the above under real constraints.
- Scalability, maintainability and deployment across stations
- Weighing customization cost against upgrade risk
- Matching a design to requirements rather than to personal habit
Fees, Pearson VUE and Legacy PSI Confusion
NI's current online-exam policy (updated July 2, 2026) and Pearson's NI program page both indicate that Pearson VUE is the current testing provider, with OnVUE remote proctoring or test-center delivery subject to availability. You may still encounter older NI badge pages and linked instructions that reference PSI. That legacy guidance conflicts with the current policy and does not establish the current provider, so follow the NI policy page and Pearson's NI program page when you register.
On cost: the current USD fee and any member versus nonmember pricing were not publicly verified. A PSI client information sheet modified in March 2022 lists USD 99 for the CTA, but that is historical and should not be treated as a 2026 Pearson price. Likewise, a 2003 requirements document describing USD 295, practical development and two-year validity is superseded by later guidance. Check the live price at checkout, and see our CTA certification cost breakdown and exam scheduling guide for planning.
| Item | What is verified | What is not |
|---|---|---|
| Testing provider | Pearson VUE (OnVUE or test center, subject to availability) | Whether any legacy PSI pages still apply |
| Exam fee | Historical USD 99 (PSI sheet, 2022) | Current USD fee and member pricing |
| Format | 40 questions, 60 minutes, 75% per NI guide | Scored/unscored split; adaptive delivery |
| Validity | Four years | Older two-year language is superseded |
Passing Score, Pass Rate and Difficulty
Keep three ideas separate. The passing score is the published 75% threshold. The pass rate is an aggregate statistic that NI does not disclose in reviewed sources, so any specific percentage you see quoted online is unverified. Difficulty is a judgment, not a number. Our pieces on what the pass-rate data shows and how hard the CTA exam is explore this in more detail.
What can be said qualitatively is that the exam is hard in a particular way. The CTD prerequisite filters the candidate pool toward experienced users, so the difficulty is less about recalling basics and more about architectural judgment, closed-book API recall and fast reading of scenario stems. At 75% with 40 questions, you can afford only a handful of misses, so shallow familiarity with any one customization area is risky.
Scenario Thinking: How Architect-Level Questions Work
Official question banks are not published, so what follows are original illustrations of reasoning patterns rather than real exam items. They show the kind of choice the architect level demands.
Pattern 1: Choosing the extension point
A team wants every test step in the organization to log a standard pass/fail annotation and enforce a common limit-checking convention. Should this be a code module called from each sequence, a sequence callback, or a custom step type? The architect reasoning: if the behavior belongs to individual steps and should be configured per step with consistent edit-time properties, a custom step type with substeps is the right home. If it must happen around every UUT regardless of content, the process model is the more fitting layer.
Pattern 2: Modifying versus overriding the process model
A site needs extra serial-number validation before testing begins. Editing a shipped model in place creates upgrade and maintenance burden. The better answer usually involves a customized copy or a callback-based approach that keeps your changes isolated and discoverable.
Pattern 3: UI and engine separation
An operator interface must remain responsive while long sequences run. The scenario tests whether you understand that the UI interacts through API calls and engine events rather than embedding test logic.
Key Takeaway
When practicing, force yourself to name the layer (step type, process model, callback, code module, UI or database) before reading the answer options. Many architect-level distractors are plausible fixes in the wrong layer. You can pressure-test this habit with timed items on the CTA practice test site.
A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Plan
Generic scheduling advice is less useful than sequencing by dependency. Start with the layers other topics rest on, then move to customization, and finish with design judgment. A longer-form plan lives in our CTA study guide; here is a compact, CTA-specific outline.
CTD refresh and Test Frameworks
- Re-read the CTD-level material, since the guide says CTA includes cumulative CTD topics
- Map how an existing station's sequences, models and configuration fit together
TestStand API
- Draw the object model hierarchy from memory until you can do it unaided
- Practice closed-book recall, since references are prohibited on exam day
Customizing Steps and Process Models
- Build a custom step type with substeps, then trace when each substep fires
- Walk through a process model's entry points and callbacks
User Interfaces and Database Interaction
- Prototype a minimal operator interface that starts and monitors an execution
- Trace how result data reaches a database and what you could customize
Design Considerations and timed practice
- Work scenario questions under the 60-minute constraint
- Review misses by asking which layer you chose wrongly
Hands-on repetition beats reading here. If your day job does not touch every customization area, build small throwaway examples for the ones it does not. NI's own courses, particularly Architecting Test Systems Using TestStand, align naturally with this material, and our CTA training overview compares preparation routes. For a condensed refresher the week before your exam, the CTA cheat sheet is a handy companion.
CTD vs CTA, and CTA vs Certified LabVIEW Architect
Because CTD is a hard prerequisite, the two credentials form a progression rather than alternatives.
| Aspect | CTD | CTA |
|---|---|---|
| Role in the path | Developer-level credential; prerequisite | Architect-level credential; requires active CTD |
| Emphasis | Building and running test sequences | Customizing and architecting the surrounding system |
| Exam content | Developer topics | Seven architect topics plus cumulative CTD coverage |
The Certified LabVIEW Architect (CLA) is a different NI credential in a different product family. Choose between CTA and CLA by where your work lives: if you design test-management systems and sequencing infrastructure, CTA fits; if you architect LabVIEW application code, CLA fits. Many test engineers working across both stacks eventually pursue both, but they are separate exams with separate preparation needs, and neither substitutes for the other.
Validity and the 50-Point Renewal Route
The credential is valid for four years, confirmed by NI's 2026 catalog. To renew, you either retake the CTA exam or earn 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while your certification is active. These points are not generic continuing education credits, and they do not carry forward. NI's recertification policy (updated April 30, 2026) also describes suspended and inactive statuses, so read it before your expiry approaches.
A source-based renewal checklist
- Note your certification's expiry date and calendar a reminder well ahead of it.
- Read NI's recertification policy and process page for the current list of eligible activities and point values.
- Complete only activities that fall within your active certification period, since points earned outside it will not count.
- Keep records of every activity as you go, rather than reconstructing them later.
- Decide early between the points route and a retake; if points look unrealistic, schedule the exam instead.
- Confirm that your CTD remains active throughout, given its role as the prerequisite.
Careers, Salary and Credential Value
Employers of TestStand architects tend to be organizations running automated test at scale: electronics and semiconductor manufacturing, aerospace and defense, automotive and medical devices, plus the system integrators and consultancies that build test stations for them. Titles vary, including test architect, test systems engineer and automation lead. Browse related roles in our CTA jobs overview.
On compensation, be cautious. No current CTA-specific salary dataset or isolated certification premium was verified, and what a TestStand architect job pays cannot, by itself, establish what the credential adds. Our salary guide and ROI analysis discuss how to think about this honestly. A reasonable view is that the credential is best understood as a verifiable signal of architect-level skill, most valuable when your employer or clients already standardize on TestStand.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. An active Certified TestStand Developer certification is the prerequisite. Completing NI's TestStand courses may offset part of the recommended experience but does not replace CTD eligibility.
NI's preparation guide describes 40 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes with a 75% passing grade. The scored/unscored split is not publicly disclosed.
Current policy points to Pearson VUE, via OnVUE remote proctoring or test centers subject to availability. The current USD fee was not publicly verified; a 2022 PSI sheet listed USD 99 historically.
No. The preparation guide prohibits TestStand and outside references, and online rules bar physical calculators and notepads, though tools supplied in the exam environment are allowed.
It is valid for four years. You can renew by retaking the exam or earning 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while certified; points do not carry forward.