- What "CTA" Means on This Site
- Who Issues the Credential and How It Is Delivered
- Where the CTA Sits: CTD to CTA
- Exam Format at a Glance
- The Seven Exam Topics
- A Version Caveat Worth Knowing
- Fees, Pass Rates and Salary: What Is and Is Not Known
- Who Should Pursue It
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
- Staying Certified for the Long Term
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CTA here means Certified TestStand Architect, issued by National Instruments, not any other credential sharing the acronym.
- You need an active Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) certification before you can pursue the CTA.
- NI's guide describes 40 multiple-choice questions, 60 minutes and a 75% passing grade.
- Seven published topics span frameworks, the API, step types, process models, user interfaces, databases and design.
What "CTA" Means on This Site
The acronym CTA is crowded. Marketers use it for "call to action," and several unrelated professional credentials in other industries abbreviate to the same three letters. None of those are covered here. On this site, CTA is the Certified TestStand Architect credential from National Instruments (NI), the company behind the TestStand test-management software used to sequence, execute and report on automated test systems in manufacturing and validation environments.
If you landed here looking for a definition, that is the short answer: a CTA is an engineer who has demonstrated, through an NI-administered exam, that they can design and customize large-scale TestStand-based test systems rather than just write sequences. For related phrasing of the same question, see our explainers on what CTA is, what CTA stands for and CTA meaning.
Who Issues the Credential and How It Is Delivered
The governing body is National Instruments Corporation, and the credential is part of NI's certification program. According to NI's current online-exam policy (updated July 2, 2026), the testing provider is Pearson VUE, with either OnVUE remote proctoring or test-center delivery, subject to availability. Pearson's NI program page corroborates that arrangement.
You may still run into older NI badge pages and linked instructions that mention PSI, the previous testing vendor. Treat those as legacy guidance. They do not establish who administers the exam today, so always confirm logistics against NI's current policy page before booking.
Remote Proctoring Rules
If you test online, the published requirements include a matching government-issued photo ID, a webcam, a single screen and a private workspace. Physical calculators and notepads are prohibited, though tools supplied inside the exam environment are allowed. NI's preparation guide also prohibits using TestStand itself or any outside references during the exam, so this is a closed-book, memory-and-reasoning test rather than a hands-on lab. For scheduling mechanics, see CTA exam dates and scheduling.
Where the CTA Sits: CTD to CTA
NI's TestStand certifications form a progression. The entry point is the Certified TestStand Developer (CTD); the CTA is the advanced tier built on top of it. The hard prerequisite is an active CTD certification. No separate mandatory degree, reference letter or training-hour requirement was verified in NI's published materials.
| Aspect | CTD | CTA |
|---|---|---|
| Role focus | Developing test sequences and programs in TestStand | Architecting and customizing complete TestStand-based systems |
| Prerequisite | None formally tied to another TestStand credential | Active CTD certification |
| Typical work | Writing steps, sequences and reports | Custom step types, process models, UIs, database logging, framework design |
| Exam coverage | Developer-level topics | Seven architect topics plus cumulative CTD material |
NI's published badge guidance recommends 24 or more months developing medium-to-large TestStand applications. Completing the courses Developing Test Programs Using TestStand and Architecting Test Systems Using TestStand may substitute for six months of that recommended experience. Importantly, coursework does not replace the CTD eligibility requirement. Full details are in our CTA requirements guide.
Exam Format at a Glance
According to NI's published preparation guide, the exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes, with a 75% passing grade. NI's Training and Certification Catalog (2026 Edition) independently confirms the one-hour multiple-choice format. That gives you roughly a minute and a half per question, which is tight for scenario-style items that ask you to reason about architecture.
- Question type: multiple choice only.
- References: none permitted, including TestStand itself.
- Scored versus unscored split: not publicly disclosed.
- Adaptive delivery: not documented in reviewed sources.
- Aggregate pass rate: not publicly disclosed by NI.
The numbers come from the guide itself; no newer independent reconfirmation of the 40-question count and 75% threshold was located, so verify them at registration. We unpack the scoring in CTA passing score.
The Seven Exam Topics
NI's preparation guide lists seven top-level objectives. They are unweighted: NI publishes no official percentages and does not identify a highest-weighted topic. Treat any site claiming exact weights as speculation. The guide also states that the CTA includes cumulative CTD topics, so the seven headings below do not mark the outer boundary of what can be asked. A fuller walkthrough lives in our CTA exam domains guide.
Domain 1: Test Frameworks
Understanding how TestStand's architecture fits together as a framework for test systems.
- How the engine, sequence editor, operator interfaces and process models relate
- Where a framework's responsibilities end and your custom code begins
- Reasoning about how components interact in a deployed station
Domain 2: TestStand API
Programmatic control of TestStand objects from code and operator interfaces.
- Navigating the engine's object model and its properties and methods
- Launching and controlling executions, and reacting to engine events
- Choosing the right object when several appear to fit a scenario
Domain 3: Customizing Steps
Extending TestStand with your own step behavior.
- When a custom step type beats a reusable sequence
- Substeps, default properties and how step types carry data
- Editing and runtime behavior that a step type can define
Domain 4: Customizing Process Models
Modifying the entry-point-driven sequence that wraps your test sequence.
- Which model structures to alter and which to leave alone
- Station-level setup, reporting and result handling hooks
- Trade-offs of changing a shared model across many stations
Domain 5: Customizing User Interfaces
Building or adapting operator and development front ends.
- How a user interface attaches to the engine
- Display of executions, reports and operator prompts
- Matching interface choices to operator workflow
Domain 6: Customizing Database Interaction
Moving results into and out of databases from a test system.
- How result data is mapped to schemas and logged
- Where logging configuration or custom handling is appropriate
- Planning data flow for production-scale volumes
Domain 7: Design Considerations
The judgment domain: choosing sound architectures for real requirements.
- Balancing reuse, maintainability and performance
- Deployment and multi-station thinking
- Selecting among several valid designs for a stated constraint
A Version Caveat Worth Knowing
The preparation guide explicitly labels itself TestStand 4.0 and carries no current revision year. That is the guide's version label, not a statement about the latest TestStand release or evidence of a newly issued 2026 exam version. In practice, the underlying architectural concepts (step types, process models, API objects, database logging) have persisted, but you should expect modern features not to be mirrored in a dated blueprint, and you should not assume a newer complete blueprint exists. Study the concepts the guide names, and use NI's TestStand Advanced Architecture Series (updated September 25, 2025) as engineering preparation, with the understanding that it is not an official source of exam domains, weights or coverage assurances.
Fees, Pass Rates and Salary: What Is and Is Not Known
This is where many sites overreach, so precision helps.
- Current exam fee: the current USD price and any member versus nonmember pricing were not publicly verified. A PSI client sheet from March 30, 2022 listed USD 99 for the CTA, but that is historical and not a verified Pearson VUE price. A far older NI requirements document (revised February 2003) described a higher fee, practical development and two-year validity; those conditions are superseded. Confirm the live price at checkout. See CTA certification cost for how we frame budgeting.
- Pass rate: not disclosed in reviewed issuer sources. Anyone quoting a specific percentage is not citing NI. Read CTA pass rate for what can and cannot be said.
- Salary: no current CTA-specific salary dataset or isolated certification premium was verified. Job-posting pay for TestStand architect roles reflects the role, not necessarily the credential. Our CTA salary guide and worth-it analysis treat that distinction carefully.
Difficulty is a separate question from passing score or pass rate. A 75% threshold on a closed-book, scenario-heavy exam taken after you already hold the CTD is demanding mainly because of breadth and the cumulative CTD content. We discuss that in how hard the CTA exam is.
Who Should Pursue It
The CTA fits engineers whose day-to-day work is the design of test infrastructure rather than individual test steps. Typical situations include:
- Test-systems engineers standardizing a TestStand deployment across multiple production lines or stations
- Integrators and consultants who build and hand over TestStand frameworks for clients
- Senior developers who maintain custom step types, process models and operator interfaces for a team
- Engineers responsible for pushing results into manufacturing databases and traceability systems
Employers in electronics manufacturing, automotive, aerospace and defense, and semiconductor test commonly run TestStand, so the credential is relevant there. We do not claim any specific hiring premium; browse CTA jobs for the kinds of roles that mention it.
CTA Versus a LabVIEW Architect Credential
Candidates sometimes weigh the CTA against NI's LabVIEW-side architect credential. The deciding factor is the tool you actually spend your time in. If your station logic lives in TestStand sequences calling code modules, the CTA maps to your work. If your complexity lives inside LabVIEW application design, the LabVIEW credential is the closer match. Many test teams use both, and nothing in the reviewed sources makes one a prerequisite for the other.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
Because NI publishes no weights, spread effort evenly at first, then shift time toward whichever domains your own work rarely touches. Most CTD holders are strong on sequence development and weak on process-model and database customization, so those deserve early attention. The plan below assumes you already hold the CTD and work in TestStand regularly. For a longer plan, use the CTA study guide.
Frameworks and Design
- Review the official preparation guide end to end and note unfamiliar objectives
- Revisit CTD material, since it is cumulative
- Read through NI's architecture series for design vocabulary
API and Step Types
- Walk the object model and trace how an execution is created and observed
- Contrast custom step types with reusable sequences for the same requirement
Process Models and Databases
- Identify the entry points of a model and what each is responsible for
- Trace how a result travels from a step into a database record
User Interfaces and Mixed Review
- Review how an interface attaches to the engine and responds to events
- Finish with timed, closed-book mixed sets to match the 60-minute pace
Key Takeaway
Train under exam conditions: 40 questions, 60 minutes, no TestStand and no references. Use our practice tests for timed mixed sets, and our CTA cheat sheet to confirm you can recall the facts without opening the software.
Staying Certified for the Long Term
The credential is valid for four years. NI's Recertification Policy and Process (updated April 30, 2026) allows you to renew by either retaking the CTA exam or earning 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while your certification is active. These are not generic continuing-education credits, and points do not carry forward between cycles. The policy also describes suspended and inactive status, so read it before your window closes. Because the CTA depends on a current CTD, keep an eye on that credential's own timeline as well.
- Note your certification date and calendar the end of the four-year window.
- Decide early whether you will retake the exam or accumulate points.
- Log each eligible activity and confirm it is NI-approved before relying on it.
- Check NI's policy for suspension and inactive-status rules before any lapse.
For related background, see CTA certification and what CTA certification is. Training pathways are outlined under CTA training, including NI's own architecting course, and you can test your recall anytime on the main practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified TestStand Architect, a National Instruments credential for engineers who design and customize TestStand-based test systems. It is unrelated to other certifications that share the abbreviation.
Yes. An active Certified TestStand Developer certification is the prerequisite. Training courses and years of experience are recommended but do not replace that eligibility requirement.
NI's preparation guide describes 40 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes with a 75% passing grade. No newer independent reconfirmation was found, so verify when you register.
NI's current online-exam policy points to Pearson VUE, via OnVUE remote proctoring or a test center where available. Older pages referencing PSI are legacy guidance.
Four years. You renew by retaking the exam or earning 50 NI-approved points from eligible TestStand activities completed while certified; points do not carry forward.